EU Energy Day
EU's Clean Energy Future: From Technology Development to System Integration

WFES, 16 January 2018, 09.00 – 17.00

09.00 - 11.00

International collaboration in clean energy research and innovation

Accelerating the transition to a low-carbon economy is a global challenge and a key political priority of the EU. To address this challenge, the EU's biggest transnational research and innovation programme "Horizon 2020" includes important funds and instruments earmarked for clean energy.

This session will present EU's priorities to accelerate clean energy innovation, the latest funding opportunities for the period from 2018 to 2020, and opportunities for international cooperation to enlarge the portfolio of available clean energy options, to bring down costs, and to work together with EU leading research organisations, companies and champions to advance the global competitiveness of renewables.


Dominique Ristori, Director-General for Energy, European Commission

Keynote opening addresses by:
● EU leadership role in clean energy innovation*
H.E. Dr. Matar Hamedi Al neyadi, Undersecretary, Ministry of Energy, UAE

Panel discussion 1: Setting the innovation agenda for the clean energy transition
moderator: Mechthild Wörsdörfer, Director of Renewables, Research and Innovation, Energy Efficiency, Directorate-General for Energy, European Commission

Frank Wouters, Director, EU-GCC Clean Energy Network
Dolf Gielen, Director IRENA Innovation and Technology Centre
Anjani Nandan Sharan, Joint Secretary, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy, India  (tbc)
Pilar Solano, Head of Division, EIB- InnovFin Energy Demonstration Projects
Florence Lambert, CEO, CEA
Rui Beon, Co-Founder, BeON Energy

Break for "Official Opening of WFES"


12.00 - 13.30

Buffet lunch and presentation by EU-start ups

Featuring EU start-ups and innovators that will also be attending the WFES incubator.

* Suggestions: Commissioner Moedas, Pascal Lamy, Andris Piebalgs

13.30 - 17.00

Leading developments in the clean energy transition

The European Union is setting the new policy framework for the clean energy transition in line with its 2020 and 2030 targets, including research and innovation initiatives to support EU's ambition to become a global leader in renewables. Key research areas include breakthrough technologies, renewable energy solutions for consumers and prosumers and digitalisation of the energy system.
This session will present the latest results from EU's research and innovation activities, provide insights in the latest developments for innovative markets, and discuss international cooperation activities with the GCC.


Frank Wouters, Director, EU-GCC Clean Energy Technology Network
Mechthild Wörsdörfer, Director of Renewables, Research and Innovation, Energy Efficiency, Directorate-General for Energy, European Commission
Steven Griffiths, Interim Executive Vice President for Research at Khalifa University of Science and Technology.

Keynote speakers:
Isabelle Kocher, CEO, ENGIE (tbc)
Hilal M. Almukhaini, Director of Energy Department, GCC Secretariat   General (tbc)

Panel discussion 1: Advances and innovation in renewable energy technologies

Moderator: Paula Abreu Marques, Head of Renewables and CCS, Directorate-General for Energy, European Commission

Keynote: Diego Pavia, CEO, KIC innoenergy (tbc)

Pjotr Tulej, Head of Renewables, Directorate-General for Research & Innovation, European Commission
Sonja Chirico Indrebø, Vice President Strategy & Innovation in New Energy Solutions, Statoil
Tommaso Morbiato, Founder, CEO, Windcity
Chokri Mousaoui, Founder, Eternal Sun Group
Dr. Osamah Al-Sayegh, Executuve Director, Energy & Building Research Center (EBRC), Kuwait Institute for Scientific Research
Abdulaziz Alswailem, KACST, Vice President for Scientific Research Support (tbc)
Panel discussion 2: Advances and innovation in renewables system integration and digitalisation
Moderator: Mark van Stiphout, Deputy Head of New Energy Technologies, Innovation and Clean Coal, Directorate-General for Energy, European Commission

Keynote: Joao Manso Neto, Member of Board, EDP, Portugal Integrid (tbc)

Jef Poortmans, imec Scientific Director PV & Energy, EnergyVille Director R&D-strategy (tbc)
Bruce Douglas, Deputy CEO, SolarPower Europe and Co-Chairman, Global Solar Council
Peter Hermans, CTO, Stedin (tbc)
Peeter Pikk, Board member, 220Energia OÜ  
Roberto Vigotti, Secretary General, RES4MED&Africa
● Representative from DEWA (tbc)